Things I Liked #1

This edition of Things I Liked is dedicated to using the Internet to figure out exactly how lesbians have sex.

+ “The Secret Sex Lives of Lesbians” on Divine Caroline:

I have been on the girl team for nearly half of my life now, so I do know a thing or two. As much as I am blushing right now and worrying about what my co-workers will think of me after they read this, I feel it is my civic duty to give all of you at least a glimpse into the lesbian bedroom. You can impress all your gay friends with your new found knowledge, and be the envy of all your straight friends by being in the know about the wonderful world of lesbian sex. You’ve heard of street-cred? Well, here’s your lez-cred.

+ “Learning About Lesbian Sex From The Internet” on The Most Cake:

To a certain extent, learning about sex from the internet undermines a girl’s reputation as a smooth operator. Perhaps it sounds a little nerdy – more Zuckerberg than Casanova. But, really, where on earth else is an embarrassed 18 year-old in the ‘burbs supposed to find out about lesbian sex? Let me tell you – despite what it sounds like – “sex education” in school is never about anything useful. In fact I picked nothing whatsoever in that class that has been helpful in a sex situation.

Ideally of course, some practised, slightly world-weary older woman would instruct you in the ways of it in between dragging on a cigarette and giving wardrobe advice, or perhaps the cute, bad-ass bisexual goth kid in English class would help you try it out after school over some Neil Gaiman comic books – but really – I can’t be blamed that that didn’t happen. It wasn’t like I was turning hordes of them down in favour of a night in with About.com and a history essay.

+ Wikipedia’s guide to “Lesbian Sexual Practices

+ “First Time Lesbian Sex” on About.com:

There’s a lot wrapped up in your first time lesbian sexual experience. Whether it’s your first time having sex at all, or your first time having sex with another woman, being nervous is normal. There’s so much cultural hype about “your first time” and “losing your virginity.” One thing is true, you never do forget your first time. Here’s some tips to get you through your first time lesbian sexual experience.

+ “Lesbian Sex Positions for Dummies” on Lovegirls, including the famous Barbie photo gallery for further instruction:

A girl’s got to start somewhere hasn’t she!? I’m sure we’ve all been in situations where we’re left wondering what exactly the side-show contortionist we’ve hastily bedded is trying to achieve as she vaults across the room via the chandelier (what can I say, the décor at my house is a little pretentious!). Let’s face it; it doesn’t always quite go to plan. I for one have ended up in many an unladylike position, some of which have ended painfully; not a heartbroken sobbing wreck, but more like concertinaed into the splits and wedged between a wall and a bed. Believe me; nobody looks pretty from that angle! So, here are a few basics as a refresher for us all and as some handy (no pun intended) hints and tips for you lovely ladies who haven’t given it a bash yet… So to speak.

Leave a Reply

